The Communications Learning Area consists of English, Media Studies, Film Studies and Modern Foreign Languages.

These subjects have much in common when it comes to communication – using visual, oral and written means of communicating. In these different subjects students meet many aspects of language, in many forms and styles – but there are significant overlaps as well.

In these discrete subjects students will have their own programmes of study but together we seek to develop in students a sense of the richness and variety of communication skills available to us all.

Teaching and support staff

Ms J Malt  Leader of Learning: Communications
Mr D Blower  Training Manager and Literacy Coordinator. English, Media and Film Studies Teacher
Ms J Brewer    English Teacher
Miss C Boseley  English Teacher
Ms T Diamond   English Teacher
Mr M Hayward   Head of Year 11. English Teacher
Mrs L Morris  English Teacher
Mr G Nash   Assistant Headteacher; Head of 6th Form. English, Media and Film Studies Teacher
Ms K Reed  English Teacher
Mrs R Rhodes   English Teacher (maternity leave)
Mr L Trowell   Second in English. English Teacher
Miss B Hassell   Modern Foreign Languages Teacher
Miss V Ryan  Head of Year 7. Modern Foreign Languages Teacher
Miss A Taylor  Modern Foreign Languages Teacher
Mr H Thompson  
Modern Foreign Languages Teacher